ACMC 85th season

Monday 7 October 2019


Sarah Beth Briggs was a finalist in the BBC Young Musician competition in 1984 and one of the youngest recipients of a Dame Myra Hess Award that same year. She was joint winner of the International Mozart Competition in Salzburg at the age of 15. She studied in Newcastle, York and Birmingham with Denis Matthews and in Switzerland with Edith Fischer, one of Claudio Arrau’s most renowned students.

Monday 4 November 2019


Rachel Spencer, Andrew Lees, Felix Tanner and Helen Duncan


The Roxburgh Quartet’s enjoyment and love of the wonderful and varied repertoire for string quartet is at the very heart of their music making. Their concerts are about sharing the warmth, intimacy and passion of what is broadly recognised as some of the greatest music ever written. Formed in 2005 and based in Edinburgh, they are the first quartet in residence at the city’s Lauriston Hall.

Monday 2 December 2019

TRIO ORFEO, flute, viola and harp

Angela Stone, Tine Janssens and Michelle Verheggen

The Trio Orfeo was founded in 2015, combining the talents of three masters of different instruments who had played together for many years in various other formations and who wanted to explore the repertoire for the combination of flute, viola and harp.

Monday 20 January 2020


Dan-Iulian Drutac, Laura Custodio Sabas, Emily Pond and Michael Newman

The Fitzroy Quartet formed at the Royal Academy of Music in 2014. In 2017 they were winners of the Beethoven Prize at the 2nd International Beethoven Chamber Music Competition. They are currently ‘Associate Ensemble’ at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire.

Monday 10 February 2020


Arvid Engegård, Alex Robson, Juliet Jopling and Jan Clemens Carlsen

Formed under the midnight sun in Lofoten in 2006, the Engegård Quartet has rapidly become one of Norway’s most sought after ensembles. Their bold, fresh interpretations of the classical repertoire combined with a deep attachment to their Scandinavian roots has attracted international acclaim and inspired some innovative partnerships and programming.

Monday 16 March 2020 – NOTE! This concert has been postponed – more info


Philip Higham enjoys a richly varied musical life: principal cellist of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra but also a passionate chamber musician, equally at home in concerto, duo and unaccompanied repertoire, he especially relishes Classical and German Romantic music.  Susan Tomes is an acclaimed pianist specialising in chamber music and long popular with audiences as the pianist of Domus and of the Florestan Trio. She is also the author of a book “Beyond the Notes”.

Please note that programmes and ensemble members are liable to alteration.